Book Review: Ashes of You (Lost and Found #5) by Catherine Cowles.

Synopsis: Five years ago, I nearly lost everything. But there was a glimmer of hope on that darkest night. There was him—a stranger I could never forget.

Now, I’m finally getting the fresh start I’ve longed for. But when I show up to interview for a nanny position in the small mountain town, the single dad has startlingly familiar blue eyes.

Eyes that have haunted my dreams for the past five years.

Lawson Hartley is everything I know I can’t have. Older, handsome, and my boss. Not to mention the shadows in his eyes that tell me he has demons, too.

Still, he seems to understand me better than anyone I’ve ever met. So gentle and careful of my scars, yet somehow making me believe I’m stronger than I ever thought possible.

And when his lips touch mine, I’m lost.

We find what we’ve been missing in each other. But the terrors of my past aren’t done with me yet, and this time, Lawson might not be able to save me…

Ashes of You (Lost and Found #5) by Catherine Cowles.

Publication Date: February 8, 2024

Publisher: Unknown

Genre: Romance

Pages: 334

Purchase on: Amazon,  
Add to: Goodreads

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Review:

Tropes:
✨Single Dad/Nanny
✨Age Gap
✨Slow Burn
✨Forced Proximity

daddy lawson has arrived 🤭

Hallie was the heart of this book. although I loved her, there was nothing surprising about it since she is a female main character of Catherine Cowles. she was a dedicated, altruistic, kind, and empathic woman, but her personality was also shaped by her anterior fights, demons and flaws.

her relationship with the kids broke me into thousands of taters and then stitched me back together in every scene, sketching how the kids were falling gradually in love her and how she was falling irrevocably in love with them. Hallie was given a different approach with each child by the author, which I absolutely loved. she managed to develop an unique and unbreakable bond with Luke, Drew, and Charlie, whom had distinct personalities that were greatly influenced by their ages.

I fell slowly for all the tiny parts of Lawson’s character scattered throughout the ‘Lost & Found Series’. the overbearing protective brother, the devoted and selfless son, the loving and caring father. the heroic chef of police. this book regrouped so harmonically every bit and piece of his personality that blossomed in the manner he fell head over heels with Hallie. their very first encounter bruised and marked their souls and i found that it just built on some layers of depth to their bond. their relationship was the epitome of pure. it was all caricatured in the way he treated her, the way he cared for her, the way they trusted each other so fearlessly, the way their attraction and love burn slowly but with such beauty throughout the storytelling. they redefined the cursed line ‘right person, wrong time’ and give each other a second chance by healing each other hearts.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started